The Reconfigurable Computing Laboratory is made up of a small group of skilled multi-disciplined researchers. Below you can find a bit about each of the members of the lab.

Lab Director

Assoc. Prof. David Kearney

  • Period in lab: 1997 – Current
  • Current Projects: Visual tracking on FPGAs, low power FPGA implementations, FPGA image processing for clean energy.
  • Research Interests: Reconfigurable Computing, Bio inspired models of parallel computation, FPGA implementation of computer vision algorithms.
  • Email Address:
  • Website:

Research Staff

Dr. Grant Wigley (Senior Lecturer)

  • Period in lab: 2003 – Current
  • Current Projects: Visual Tracking CACTuS /CACTuS– FL, Hetrogeneous Computing Systems
  • Research Interests:Operating Systems for Reconfigurable Computers, FPGAs, Applications for FPGAs, UAVs, Infrared image
  • Email Address:
  • Website:

Dr. Sebastien Wong (Adjunct Senior Lecturer)

  • Period in lab: 2004 – CurrentSebastienWong
  • Current Projects: Visual Tracking CACTuS /CACTuS– FL, Hetrogeneous Computing Systems
  • Research Interests: Multi-object Visual Tracking, Parallel Computing, Infrared Imagery
  • Email Address: N/A
  • Website: N/A

Dr. Ivan Lee (Senior Lecturer)

  • Period in lab: 2013 – Current
  • Current Projects: Visual Tracking
  • Research Interests: 2D/3D Video Communication, Multimedia Information System, Wireless Multimedia, Neural Network Signal Processing, Biomedical Engineering
  • Email Address:
  • Website:

Dr Victor Stamatescu (Research Fellow)

PhD Students

Anthony Milton

Avishek Chakraborty

Honours & Project Students

Yue Li

  • Period in lab: 2014
  • Current Projects: Panoramic camera and semi-automated annotation tool
  • Research Interests: Computer Vision





  • Cong Minh Tran
  • Ian Sommerville (Retired)
  • Njubulo Milo (Western Power)
  • Dennis Delic (DSTO)
  • Grant Wigley (University of South Australia)
  • Steward von Itzstein (University of South Australia)
  • Weiquan Zhao (ASTC Design)
  • John Hopf (BAE Systems)
  • Van Nguyen (DSTO)
  • Sebastien Wong (DSTO)
  • Mark Jasiunas (DSTO)
  • Vinay Sriram (IPACS Power)
  • Suthep Gururatsakul
  • Adam Gatt (Joint Electronic Warfare Operational Support Unit, RAAF)
  • Dale Ward (Flinders University)
  • Wanjun Zhai